The Rise and Fall of Soccer’s European Super League

The Rise and Fall of Soccers European Super League

The international soccer “Super League” was created to host the top clubs from Bundesliga; English Premier League; Serie A, La Liga; and the French League One (Top 5 Leagues). This league was a very short-lived idea.  The league started when the president of Real Madrid Football Club, Florentino Perez proposed the idea of the Super League to the top 12 clubs from the Top 5 Leagues. 

The plan consisted of these 12 soccer clubs breaking away from their host leagues and combining to create a league where the best competition is played. The 12 clubs set to join the Super League were England’s Manchester United, Manchester City, Liverpool, Chelsea, Arsenal, and Tottenham from the Premier League in England. The clubs to join from La Liga were Spain’s Barcelona, Real Madrid, and Atletico Madrid.  Finally, the teams that were to join from Serie A were Italy’s Juventus, AC Milan, and Inter Milan. All of these soccer clubs are the big money teams in Europe. 

In the Premier League, all the clubs that were going to leave their fans were outraged that they could just leave their loyal fans behind. This suit followed in both Serie A and La Liga, which made the decisions for the clubs just that much harder to make.

The final piece of the puzzle that broke up the Super League was the fact that UEFA, who holds the Champions and Europa league (which are competitions for clubs all over Europe to play each other), said that the teams who were going to join the Super League would not be allowed to participate in UEFA-sponsored competitions. With this final part of the puzzle, 10 of the 12 teams withdrew from the Super League. The only two teams that remain are Barcelona FC and Real Madrid FC.

As much fun as this league was going to be to watch, there has been strong opposition to it, which is probably within reason. A league where the best teams play each other would get repetitive really fast. we think that it is best to keep the leagues separated until the Champions and Europa League competitions.